Thing 18: Augmented & Virtual Reality

Admittedly, I did some reading up on both Augmented and Virtual Reality before beginning Thing 17, as my experience with both had been so limited previously.

Being able to create 3D art seemed like an interesting and fun place to start, but unfortunately none of my attempts with apps seemed to work overly well.

Probably the coolest thing I found on my searches was that Google Translate app now allows you (in some languages) to hold the camera over a piece of writing and it attempts  to translate this for you so you are seeing the poster/writing in your preferred destination language. Obviously, as with all Google Translate functions, caution and proofreading need to be exercised when using this!

Finally, I had a go at the InCell game and found it quite entertaining and worked well, regardless of the lack of high-tech equipment involved.

pexels-photo-615060.jpeg

Leave a comment